Warmth of words

Well, summer is almost here and I’m ready to read.

I don’t know what it is about summer, but I always get the urge to spend my afternoons under the sun reading. Or curled up in bed reading. Or sprawled out on the floor reading. I think it’s from all the library’s summer reading challeneges I did as a kid.

I have a few books on my list this summer and want to share them with you. Maybe we could all read a few of the same books and compare notes?

First, I need to finish “The Passage” by Justin Cronin.

JustinCroninThePassage

It’s a dystopian, post-apocolyptic novel about vampires. I’m maybe halfway through the book and it is gripping. Cronin writes (or wrote this) in such a mysterious way, that his book is almost a thriller. He manages several intertwining characters and keeps you wondering at how their stories will pan out. Also, his vampires are really scary. They aren’t traditional vampires and they aren’t “Twilight” vampires either. (I hate how now there is a category of vampires because of “Twilight.”)

Next up is a book I borrowed from my dad, “The Cop Who Wouldn’t Quit” by Rick Nelson.

4042_81e1835481a4833be91dbb84421a679c

It’s a true story of an especially gruesome murder and the police officers and detectives who, well, didn’t quit, until they found the murderer. I love crime stories, and this one is close to home because it all happened in Houston (my hometown area) in the ’80s. Also, my dad has newspaper articles and internet research he did on his own that I borrowed, too, so I can actually read the news stories about the crime while I’m reading the book. I can’t wait. 

I also read some summaries from a book blog that got me interested in a couple more.

 “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Neil Gaiman is coming out in June and it’s Gaiman’s first novel for adults in a long while, I think.

oceanwp800x600

 The book cover says it’s about a man who goes back to his childhood home, goes to a farm at the end of the street, and while sitting by a pond, “the unremembered past comes flooding back.”

“The Never List” by Koethi Zan, this won’t be released until July.

the-never-list

Ultimately it’s about a girl who is trying to move on with her life a decade after she and a friend were held captive for three years by a sadistic freak. I think her friend was killed while they were being held prisoner, and the girl who makes it out decides that she’s going to take a cross-country trip to try to come to terms with what happened to her. It sounds dark and that’s what I like.

“Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls” by David Sedaris

e270c421fee396d9781404b786b6a738

So, this came out in April, but I hadn’t really heard much about it until now. It’s a collection of Sedaris’ essays and he’s been called “the preeminent humorist of his generation” by Entertainment Weekly and sometimes you just need a good laugh.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

